You Can’t See My Bandaid.

When I took apart a giant frame and left the glass against the shelf because I didn’t have time to put it back together, I just knew it wasn’t going to end well. (Why, when we have that kind of thought, do we do nothing about it?!) Two days later, I’m grabbing something from the closet next to that shelf, and WHAM. I ran my arm right alongside the corner of that frame and got a nice, big cut.

I’m pretty darn squeamish (that’s why I chose to stay as far away from the medical field as possible) but this time I somehow remained relatively calm. I think it’s because this happened merely months ago with a nice slice to my finger. That time, oh yes, I panicked. Big time. When Keith tried to take off my makeshift paper towel bandage, I tried to kick him away. He is a good nurse so he persisted and my finger is still in one piece. But that is neither here nor there.

So, back to this incident. This cut is right in the middle of my arm. It’s definitely not the prettiest thing, so I’ve been putting a bandaid on it not only to keep it protected but also to hide the gore. After a couple of days of the really large, flesh-colored bandages, I needed something new. I graduated to the regular-sized bandages, so that was a good step. But, with the locale of this cut, the regular color of bandaids were driving me insane. No matter the intention, these guys just aren’t blending in. They are completely obvious and no fun at all. I was ready to fix that.

I marched over to the Commissary to see what I could find in the way of non-regular colored bandaids. Did I want princesses? No. SpongeBob? Nope. I’m a little old for all that. Smiley-faces? Eh. Then I saw them: camouflage bandaids. Genius! Thank you, Curad, for the camo adhesive bandages.

my camouflage bandage

my camouflage bandage

I’m now rolling around base with a nice little camo bandage on my arm to hide my ugly little cut. Surely no one has even noticed this green and brown sticker smack dab in the middle of my right arm because it is camouflage. Phew.

I may be out of regs (regulation: it’s desert camo now, not woodlands as I am currently wearing), but I don’t care. And they probably can’t even see it anyway.

Leave a comment

What are your thoughts?

