Drawing a Spider on the Wall

I’m thrilled to have been UGallery’s Artist in Focus! For this blog post UGallery asked me several questions, which you can read here. My favorite question, though, was “What is your earliest art memory?”

Hmmm. The second grade citywide art contest where we were tasked with creating art from trash? I think we can all guess that I did well in that challenge! (I LOVE recycling, after all. Seems as if I always have.)

But there is an earlier memory. A more dramatic one. One fueled by a four-year-old tantrum. Oh yes…it was the time when I drew in crayon…all over the wall. It was done in retaliation for being put in time out. My dad was maaadddd. I asked him about it the other night, and he grumped, “Of course I remember!!”

Whoops.

Let’s just call it creativity! Yes! So, my earliest art memory is when I drew a mural of a spider. OK!

Read the UGallery blog post.

See my two new pieces at UGallery.

While we are on the subject of art, I’m excited to introduce my new art website: stacyhaywardraine.com. Let me know what you think.

As you can see, I’ve been busy in my little art room. There are no spider murals in there, though.

If you have any early art memories–or good tantrum stories for that matter–please share!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Fun post! I wish I could draw something as creative as your spider!

    Reply
  1. 2012 in Review « The Flibbertigibbet Blog: Art Love, Food Love, Etcetera

What are your thoughts?

