Emotional Lifecycle of Deployment

Several of my friends are sending their husbands off on deployments this month, which of course leads to much reflection for all of us. Each time one of us goes through this, I think we all go through it just a little too, even if it’s not our turn. (See a post from Mrs. Woods when my last deployment began. She explains it well, and nearly brings tears to my eyes as I read it one year later.)

Deployments bring with them so many emotional challenges, and we often talk about whether this feeling or that feeling is “normal.” Well, just a reminder to those of you embarking on this winding journey, it’s all normal no matter how crazy it may seem.

I created this infographic for a class last year about the emotional lifecycle of deployment for military spouses. Hopefully someone who is getting ready for, in, or completing a deployment might find it useful.


P.S.  Check out my friend’s new photography blog, Confessions of a Sisterwife, which she created as a way to use art to help get through deployment. Her photography is gorgeous.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Ginny

     /  April 5, 2012

    Great post Stacy!

    Reply
  2. WOW! You never cease to amaze me!

    Reply
  3. Mary

     /  February 21, 2013

    Hi Stacy :-}, I’m Mary, I’m an ARMY Mom of 3 Soldiers. My youngest is currently deployed and my daughter inlaw lives about 6 hours away. I absolutely LOVE your Emotional Lifecycle of Deployment!!! The truth of it made me cry and smile at the same time. Thank you for your time and sharing this with us.:-]

    Reply
  4. Lyn

     /  October 8, 2013

    Hi Stacy, I am a military spouse (been through lots of deployments) and now work for a family support center over deployed family contact and events. I have to give a presentation to some new spouses who want to know what to expect with a deployment and started creating my own emotional lifecycle. I have really enjoyed yours though and wondered if you would give me permission to use it as a visual aid?

    Reply
    • Sure, please do use it! I only ask that you credit me. Glad you like it and find it helpful.

      Reply
  1. 2012 in Review « The Flibbertigibbet Blog: Art Love, Food Love, Etcetera

What are your thoughts?

