Nope, No Fear of Needles Here.

Just so you know, I have no fear of needles. Actually, I quite like them. Well, at least I like them/don’t fear them when they aren’t really needle-y. See, that is a misconception with acupuncture, that it is really a “needle” as we normally think of it. Acupuncture needles aren’t like the needles used to give shots or draw blood.

acupuncture needle

acupuncture needle (probably not supposed to bend it!)

See? More like a little tiny wire. Nothing to be afraid of.

And no, in my experience, they really don’t hurt. They actually feel good. No kidding.

Acupuncture is probably the most relaxing activity I do  – more relaxing than massages, long baths, walks on the beach … you know the drill. It may seem counterintuitive that having needles stuck in various parts of my body would be relaxing, but that is exactly what acupuncture accomplishes.

After a bike wreck resulting in a sprained shoulder, I found a guy that specialized in what he called sports-acupuncture. As he “needled” my shoulder I literally could feel the tension leaving, and when I left I was able to raise my arm for the first time in weeks.

Then when I moved, I needed to find a new acupuncturist and came across the name of Alison Larmee Borne of Cape Fear Acupuncture. I adore Alison, plain and simple. She is so knowledgeable about not only acupuncture, but of the many types of traditional medicine (have you heard of moxibustion, or cupping?) and the integration of traditional with western medicine too.

Anyway, I’ve been telling her that I really, really want to write a blog post about acupuncture. I really, really do. But here’s the problem I kept running into: I love acupuncture so much but understand it so little, so what can I really say?

1) It doesn’t hurt.
2) It feels really good actually.
3) I’d do it every week if I could.
4) Did I mention that it is super-relaxing?
5) It can help with a long list of ailments.
(See a partial list on Cape Fear Acupuncture’s FAQ page.)
6) I don’t really understand how it works, but I know that it does.

And since I realize that I might never have the level of understanding to fully describe acupuncture, I decided that I can show it:

Face needles for my cold! (Local sinus points)

Face needles for my cold! (Local sinus points)

I swear, these do not hurt.

See? Not scary! Kind of cool, don’t you think? Trust me, the needles don’t hurt. I’m a baby when it comes to pain. If it hurt, I wouldn’t be excited to go each time.

And a few more …

The ones in my belly aid digestion.

Back Needles

According to Alison: Back Shu points, or “Back Transforming points” which connect and help to tonify or strengthen the organs (and related functions) of the heart, liver, blood (not an organ but a “vital essence”), spleen, kidneys and large intestine.

Third Eye Point

Third Eye Point in Yintang, which calms the Shen, or spirit.

Lemme know if you have questions.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. i have a question – who took your photo??

    Reply
  2. It sounds positive, needles used in acupuncture don’t hurt.

    Reply
  3. thanks for sharing this post. Its make helpful to people who thought acupuncture hurt by needle.

    Acupuncture Needles

    Reply
  1. 2012 in Review « The Flibbertigibbet Blog: Art Love, Food Love, Etcetera

What are your thoughts?

