Magazines, Meet Pinterest

For many years, I would finish reading a magazine and then do one of two things:

  1. Note anything I wanted to remember in a spreadsheet. (Dorky, I know, but nonetheless useful.)
    or
  2. Rip out whatever pages I wanted to keep and put them in my categorized file. (Dorky, I know! Still nonetheless useful!)

Lately, I do neither. I just use Pinterest.

If you haven’t heard of it already, I would be surprised. If you haven’t used it … well, it’s more addictive than Facebook. Just keep that in mind when you sign up. (Definitely sign up though.)

Pinterest logo

Now, my thoughtful sister sends me Lucky magazine each month. I enjoy flipping through it and using their handy stickers to note anything I want to remember. Thanks to Pinterest, I no longer have to rip out anything – I can just Pin It (and then pass the magazine along to a friend).

There’s only one problem with this when it comes to trying to Pin articles or items I see in a print magazine: rarely do the magazine’s websites coordinate nicely with the magazine itself (at least in my experience). For instance, I saw a Lucky article on easy-to-pull-off fall trends. I went to luckymag.com and typed in the title of the article in their search function. It came up with 359 results, and the first few results were not the title I’d plugged in. That’s a problem, especially when it’s a good thing to get Pinned on Pinterest – you want others to be driven to your site, and Pinterest does just that.

If I were Lucky, I would begin coming up with vanity URLs for some, if not all, of my articles, and place the Pinterest logo on that printed page. A reader will then be reminded – “Oh! I can go Pin this!” Reader goes to her computer, plugs in the easy URL (luckymag.com/falltrends11 perhaps), and can easily Pin that page (or she can go straight to Pinterest, click Add a Pin, and add the URL directly from there). Now all other users on Pinterest see that article posted and may pay it a visit, Repin it, or Like it. Lots of visitors coming your way, Luckymag.com.

Maybe other mags are already doing this? If so, let me know!

In the meantime, you can follow me on Pinterest to see what I haven’t been ripping out of magazines lately 😉
Follow Me on Pinterest

Previous Post
Leave a comment

What are your thoughts?

