Recipe: Healthy On-the-Go Seed Bars

Granola bars are so easy to grab for a snack on the run. But are they healthy? Well, it depends on which kind you are eating. If the ingredient list is super-long, then no, probably it is not as healthy as you would imagine.

I am a fan of making my own so I can control the ingredients. I’ve found I like seed bars better than granola (trust me, they taste so much better than they sound!). So, I went hunting on google and found this recipe.  I made some tweaks to allow for what I had in the pantry, and also to suit my tastes. I’ve had several buddies taste-test and these bars received excellent reviews!

On-the-Go Seed Bars

On-the-Go Seed Bars


Here is my recipe:

  • 1 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 3/4 cup flax seeds
  • 3/4 cup ground oatmeal (just blend regular plain oatmeal in blender)
  • 1/2 cup macadamia nuts, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup cashews, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup brown rice syrup
  • 3/4 – 1 tablespoon agave nectar, depending on how sweet you would like these to be (you can probably use honey too – just use a little more)
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
The directions are really simple. Mix together all the ingredients until combined. (It will still look a little dry.)
Mix all ingredients together.

Mix all ingredients together.

Place mixture in greased jelly pan (I used an olive oil spray). Position a piece of waxed paper on top and roll flat.
Rolling out the mixture

Use a rolling pin to flatten the mixture to about 3/4 – 1″ thickness.

Remove the wax paper. If you want, you can straighten the edges by cutting off the uneven excess and placing it back on top of the flattened mixture, and then rolling it out again.
Place in a 300 degree oven and bake for 15 – 20 minutes, depending on how crispy you like the edges. I don’t like mine crispy, so I only bake for 15 minutes.
 Baking the seed bars

Watch to make sure it doesn’t get too crisp.

Cut into bars with a pizza wheel while it is still hot. Let cool and enjoy!
(And let me know what you think if you try them!)
Wrap individually to take on-the-go!

Wrap individually to take on-the-go!

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I must try this out sometime…thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

