Solution: The Best Dog Brush

I adore my pup Jack more than I ever thought possible. I do not, however, adore the insane amount of dog hair he leaves all over our home. I sweep, and within two minutes my work is undone.

Jack the Dog (Who Sheds a LOT)

Jack the Dog (Who Sheds a LOT)

It’s not his fault, I know. And I know the one way to limit the dog hair in my home is to brush him more often. It’s not the brushing that I find difficult — it’s finding a brush that does the trick.

I’ve tried the regular old dual dog hair brush. Didn’t work, and then he ate it.

Dual Dog Brush

Dual Dog Brush

I’ve tried the zoom groom. It removes the dog hair but doesn’t catch it in it’s bristles, thereby defeating the purpose because I still have to pick up the hair.

Zoom Groom

I’ve spent money on the Furminator. It works pretty well…Jack hates it and runs away.

The Furminator

The Furminator

Bed, Bath, and Beyond had a great display that duped me too. It does ok, but it’s hard to remove the little dog hair it catches. (I will say that it is very helpful for vacuuming dog hair from tough upholstered surfaces, such as your car interior – I used it as a way to loosen the hair to make it easier to remove with the vacuum.)

FURemover Duo

I’ve spent $70 on the dyson animal groomer attachment. In theory I love it, but it’s not great for Jack. He isn’t crazy about it. (I think it is meant for dogs with longer hair. Oops.)

Dyson's Groomer

Dyson's Groomer

The other night, however, I stumbled upon a brush that does work. It removes the hair and catches it in it’s bristles for easy cleanup. After 1.5 years of looking, buying, and being disappointed, I have found the best tool for removing dog hair.

No, it’s not a razor to shave the dog!

It’s your standard, $2 comb.

Best Dog Brush

Best Dog Brush

Yes, I know. Shocking. But it works. Try it. (For short-haired dogs, at least.)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sorry about your long drawn dog-hair-brushing-series. But I am glad you finally have the solution. 😀
    PS: The doggie is so cute!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

