Recipe: Delicious, Healthy(ish) Chocolate Mousse

Once upon a time when I lived in a land that had a Whole Foods, I tried their chocolate mousse … made with tofu.  Yep, Tofu Chocolate Mousse. And it was good, too.

I tried to recreate it back then and I admit that it did not turn out so well. But for some reason I have had chocolate mousse on my brain for days, so I decided to tackle the healthy version once again. I am happy to report that this try was a different story. It’s delicious, and just the chocolate fix I was craving.

Healthy(ish) Chocolate Mousse

You would never know this mousse is made with silken tofu. It’s downright heavenly, with no odd tofu taste that one unfamiliar with the tastelessness of tofu would expect. I even had a taste-tester who declared it delicious and was very surprised when informed of the secret tofu ingredient!

If you are in the mood for an interesting recipe with a decadent result, give it a try. It’s super easy:

Ingredients:

  • 1 package silken tofu (1 lb.)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 cup (or more, depending on your taste) honey
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Refrigerate to chill. If you’d like, add a few almond slices to the top before serving.

Let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Seems interesting…though I am kind of averse to tofu. 😦

    Reply
  2. We miss you here in the land of Wholefoods!

    Reply
  3. Keith

     /  June 20, 2011

    MmmMMMmmMm. I want some chocolate mousse.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

