Recipe: Perfect Pumpernickel Seed Bread

There is something so comforting (not to mention delicious) about homemade bread. There is also something so time-consuming as well. The good news is that there exists The Bread Machine. As you know, I do love my bread machine. I don’t really care that it is big and bulky and takes up a lot of real estate in my very little kitchen. I get so much use out of it that it is worth the space devoted to it in my cabinet or on my counter.

Perfect Pumpernickel Bread

Perfect Pumpernickel Bread

Because baking bread in the bread machine is so easy, it affords me the luxury of doing some bread recipe testing. I am proud to report that I have perfected the Pumpernickel Bread recipe for bread machines. I have solicited outside taste-testers who agree with my findings as well!

So, without further ado, here is the perfected Pumpernickel Seed Bread recipe for bread machines:

  • 1 1/4 cups warm water (a little warmer than lukewarm)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/3 cups molasses
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 tablespoon caraway seed
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seed
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon flax meal
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 1 cup rye flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons wheat germ
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast

Place all liquid ingredients in the bread machine pan, then all dry ingredients except yeast (unless your bread machine manufacturer recommends a different order). Once all dry ingredients are in the bread machine, make a little hole or depression in the flour mound and place yeast there.

Select the basic cycle and if allowed, your crust preference (I always select light crust) and press start. Remember to always monitor your dough for the first few minutes – if it looks a little dry, add water; if it looks a little wet, add flour.

Three or so hours later when your bread machine alerts you that your bread is done, take it out of the bread pan and let cool for a few minutes. Then, slice it and enjoy!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Another YUM!

    Reply
  2. Sounds wonderful. 😀 I wish I had a break machine here in my flat.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

