I Love My Lifebook

Most days I seem to have a memory similar to that of a goldfish, which drives me crazy because I am always thinking of something that I really want to do, read, tell somebody, etc. I have yet to jump on board the smartphone wagon (though it’s not too far away, I am sure) so I can’t take notes there. Instead I’ve gotten in the habit of carrying around a little notebook in my purse, and I write everything down that I might ever need to know or remember or remind someone in that little, pretty notebook.

The Lifebook

The Lifebook

Last week I lost said notebook. It was devastating. I was devastated. Life becomes much more difficult when I can’t readily access the place where I store everything I need to remember. And to add insult to injury, I resorted to writing things down on little slips of paper that then found themselves floating around in my purse and falling out every time I dug out my wallet.

I was in a crisis.

I consulted with my girlfriends. One said, “Oh just move on! You’ll start a new notebook and forget about the old one.” Sort of like a boyfriend, I guess.

Another said, “Start a new one. Then you’ll find the old one.”

I dug into my purse for chapstick and some random scraps of paper notes fell out and I had had it! I started a new notebook.

Two days later I found my old one. I had almost gotten used to the new one by that time, yet I still rejoiced. I called everyone that had listened to me complain to tell them. I’m sure they were thrilled with the news.

And that’s when I renamed this little notebook my Lifebook. It is. I have everything there. The practical stuff, the weird stuff, the random stuff. All of it. For instance, here are some of the items you will currently find in my Lifebook:

  • a reminder to pick up some mace (better safe than sorry!)
  • a note to put Jack’s tags on his collar
  • a sketch of a painting I might begin
  • my deployment goals
  • a reminder to make a dentist appointment
  • a list of potential blog posts
  • craft ideas
  • a running list of things to tell my husband when he calls

And the list goes on and on. As you can see, very important stuff that I need to remember is stored in the Lifebook. I highly recommend you start one yourself. But, don’t lose it!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. This seems like a great idea. I generally scribble such quickies either on slips of paper or my cellphone. A notebook would be so much better. Thanks! 😀

    Reply
  2. leahsinger

     /  March 11, 2011

    I love this idea. I have my own “lifebook” if you will in the form of a paper planner book that I still use for my personal appointments, reminders, lists, etc. I love it. It’s like my personal bible. I track what we eat for dinner every night, as well as when I exercise. It has my “to do’s.” And I like that’s it’s separate from my electronic work calendar.

    Reply
    • I was really thinking I should combine my calendar and Lifebook – but then I couldn’t bring myself to rip out pages of completed To-Do’s if it was also a nice calendar!

      Reply
  3. I just found your post when I googled Lifebook. It’s interesting because last weekend I just finished a 4 day workshop called “Lifebook” in Chicago and it was an amazing experience of building out your Lifebook in a very systematic and methodical way…and learning how to live in it everyday.

    The single best workshop or class I’ve ever taken. The website is here: http://www.mylifebook.com

    No I don’t work for them nor do I get a commission for this…but just thought I’d spread the word since I stumbled on your site.

    Reply
    • Thanks for visiting – I think those lifebooks are much more involved than mine!

      Reply

What are your thoughts?

