From Pillowcase Packaging to Travel Toiletry Bag

I have a conundrum. I really hate throwing things away that are clearly not in tatters, or dirty beyond the power of bleach, or contaminated, etc. That’s why I get very excited when I find a way to give something a new, repurposed life. Remember the cleaning rag storage box?

Even if the item in question can be used just one more time before throwing it away, it makes me feel better. (For instance, the ziploc plastic bags that tortillas come in can be reused as to-go dog food bags.)

Anyway, it’s not often, but each time I buy new sheets I have this very big internal struggle about what to do with the packaging – you know, the heavy-duty plastic zippered thingy? Clearly not in tatters, dirty, or contaminated. It has served it’s intended purpose, yes, but does that mean it should go straight into the trash?! I just can’t do it. It’s nice and sturdy, with a zipper. So I need a way to reuse it.

The Repurposed Toiletry Bag

The Repurposed Toiletry Bag

Ah! A travel toiletry bag! And it’s see-through so I don’t have to put all my toiletries in a ziploc when going through airport security! Genius reuse, I believe!

Another idea: First Aid Kit. You can see everything in it, so whenever you need more band-aids, it’s obvious!

And, for the larger zippered plastic thingy that the actual sheets come nicely packaged in – I’ve been thinking about those too. Storage, anyone? Maybe the special occasion tablecloths, or the mounds of tissue paper and ribbons for wrapping.

I beg you, please don’t throw the sheet and pillowcase packaging away. It is so useful, if only given the chance to prove itself!

Any other ideas for how to reuse them?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Well….look who has a blog!!?!! I did not know this:)

    Reply
  2. Tara

     /  March 2, 2011

    I use them to store extra sets of sheets or small blankets in the top of the closet. If you can squish them in there then it keeps the top shelf of my closet neatly organized. Baby blankets are a nice fit in them.

    Reply
    • My sister says she keeps my niece’s dress-up jewelry in them! Good idea for you!

      Reply
  3. Wow this is a grand idea! And the transparency sure has its advantages.

    Reply
  4. I LOVE THIS IDEA!

    Reply
  1. Fav. Pin Friday: Real Simple’s Packing Guide « The Flibbertigibbet Blog: Art Love, Food Love, Etcetera

What are your thoughts?

