I Am a Friend Connoisseur

Recently I spent a weekend in DC to celebrate three of my friends’ birthdays. Needless to say, with all the festivities it was quite the weekend!

During the years I spent in the DC area, I was truly blessed to meet and build strong friendships with some of the most fun, intelligent, and talented women. As good friends do, they each in their own way had a profound effect on me and most certainly contributed to the woman I am today. (And also as good friends do, they got me through a lot of firsts, including the first deployment.)

On my last night there I gathered a few of us together so I could have just a bit more time with them before heading back to my fantastic friends and funny dog here at home. I try and get my various DC friends all in the same place every time I visit, and each time proves incredibly memorable. But the thing is, these friends that I convene are each from the different pieces of my life in DC – some are from my first job, some are from my second job – and some are from my first part-time job. I am the common denominator when this group comes together.

Some folks don’t like to mix and match friends from different areas of life (work friends with gym friends, gym friends with hometown friends, etc). I’ve always been of “the more the merrier” mindset, and if I like all of them, surely they will like each other. (Yes, this can on occasion come back and bite me, but most times it does not.)

That evening one friend of mine began discussing with another that they should really get together more often. I wholeheartedly agree.

DC Girls and Me at the Beach

At the Beach for My Bachelorette Party

I have always wondered why they don’t get together without me there to corral them. Each one of them is purely extraordinary and a joy to be around. I mean, wouldn’t one wonderful person just automatically gravitate to another kindred spirit? One would think. And of course, because they are my friends, I think they deserve the best, including the very best of other friends.

And then it hit me: Clearly, I must be a Friend Connoisseur. I may not be a connoisseur of anything else, but of friends, I most certainly am!  I fancy myself to be an expert friend-picker: I understand what makes up an amazing friend and I seek out those people. My friends are incredibly valuable to me. And because of that, over the years I believe I have become a good judge of friend-character, and I have reaped the benefits of my expertise.

And, I am also just lucky that I have many friends who are caring, loyal, funny, kind, and all-in-all, just really fabulous people.

Any connoisseur worth their salt should spread the knowledge wealth. Hopefully, I’ve done just that. 🙂

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Ginny

     /  February 27, 2011

    awwwwww! finally! we make the blog! love you, miss you!

    Reply
    • Nicole

       /  February 27, 2011

      AWWWWW!!!!! you’re sooo cute…btw…even with the picture being small I can still pick out my sister from a mile away. And you and Ginny also… I feel accomplished.

      Reply
    • I’m sure it’s the first of many!

      Reply
  2. What an awesome picture that one! 😀

    Reply
  3. Great Picture! Looks like you had great fun! 🙂

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

