Recipe: The Most Delicious Pizza That Ever Was

My sister tells me that I eat “weird food.” And if my tastes are compared to hers, then yes, maybe I do. However, I like to think I am just more of a culinary adventurer than she is. (Again, we are talking comparisons. I don’t eat really weird food…such as octopus. Or frog legs.) My adventurousness is how I came to create The Most Delicious Pizza That Ever Was.

The Bread MachineNow, first I must tell you about the culinary genius called The Bread Machine. This little appliance is, in my opinion, a must-have in any kitchen. Many folks get one and never use it, then send it off to their local Goodwill. But the good thing about that is, people like me stumble upon these fantastic machines and take one home for the bargain price of $15.

I have really enjoyed trying different breads in my little bread machine (recipes to come once perfected). And, I have also been refining my whole wheat pizza dough recipe. Here it is:
(Place in the order your bread machine calls for – mine calls for liquids first, then dry ingredients, then yeast. Make a little hole in the flour and place the yeast there to keep it separated from the liquids for a bit.)

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons oil (I usually use olive oil)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • some shakes of garlic powder
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cups white flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast

I swear I am getting to The Most Delicious Pizza That Ever Was.

A few girlfriends came over for dinner the other night so I made some pizza dough in the machine. The day before, I had eaten dinner at Brixx pizza. Instead of ordering the Pear and Gorgonzola pizza that day I opted for the veggie pizza, which is also delicious. But after I went home, I just couldn’t get my mind off the pear pizza, so I recreated a version of it for the girls, and it was a hit! Here’s what I used once the pizza dough was ready for toppin’s:

  • pizza sauce (homemade – diced tomatoes, tomato paste, garlic, basil, brown sugar)
  • shredded mozzarella
  • Gorgonzola (maybe a 1/2 cup)
  • one pear (I got rid of the skin and just sliced it up)
  • caramelized onions (just saute a large yellow onion with a little oil and a few tablespoons of brown sugar)
  • small handful of pine nuts (this is where I deviated from the Brixx recipe. I love pine nuts)

The result was a spectacularly delicious pizza that my sister would probably call Weird Pizza. Well, I love Weird Pizza. And if I could just get her to try it, I’m sure she would too.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Yum yum, you make me crave pizza for lunch today. Terrific recipe! 😀

    Reply
  2. Sounds SUPER yummy!

    Reply
  1. Recipe: Perfect Pumpernickel Seed Bread « The Flibbertigibbet Blog

What are your thoughts?

