The Best Thing About Deployment

This weekend wasn’t my favorite. My husband, my Marine, left before dawn on Saturday, marking what I’ve come to think of as the beginning of our next deployment–the long training that precedes the actual deployment. His departure brings anxiety about the weeks he will be gone for this stretch, and the months that he will be gone the next.

This isn’t a pity-party-post, though. As I’ve said before, life could be much worse. Instead, I write this post so I can share with you the best part of deployment: The support that comes with it from the military community that surrounds me here.

Those of us that have been through this song and dance before know, obviously, how it feels. Though I’m a little down, I also feel very loved by my friends this Valentine’s day. I received the sweetest messages all weekend and my buddies kept me busy the entire time. I was far from alone.

Megan and her Marine husband insisted on cooking me breakfast the morning my husband left. Ashley cooked me dinner that night and made sure my wine glass was full. Beth spent the remainder of that evening watching a terrible movie–that I had chosen–until the end, all the while I dozed on the opposite couch (Sorry, Beth!). Anna brought me a Valentine pick-me-up that included a very sweet card, some V-day goodies, and cupcakes!

And really, the list goes on. Honestly, the best parts of deployment are those that get you through it. Happy Valentine’s Day.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Friends mean the world indeed. Good to read this post even though I am sad you and your husband didn’t get to spend time over the weekend. God is probably stocking up surprises for you. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Stacy,

    This is such a nice message and the right way to look at things. Stay strong. Use your network of friends, they are your family now too. And keep writing. I love reading your posts.

    -Valerie

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

