My Need for Organization…Or Shall We Say Control

I’ve been on a mission lately. I may be driving my husband somewhat crazy, but organizing everything I possibly can is number one on my daily To Do list. And when that drawer gets unorganized the very next day, I just organize it again. I finally realized that it is probably less a need for home organization and more a need for a little control in the face of a looming deployment, but at least my home is reaping the benefits!

We stopped by a friend’s house the other day and she showed me her mid-project closet organization, complete with several hanging sweater and shoe racks and lovely matching hangers, and I felt some major Type A envy. And yesterday a friend of mine wrote on her blog about how much she loved lists and included some photos, chief among them was a gorgeous pic of her chalkboard wall. MAJOR Type A envy there. Whatdoyaknow, all three of us have an upcoming deployment in common. Coping strategy, anyone? At least for me it is!

the cleaning rag storage box

I am very excited about my latest idea born out of my organizing frenzy. For a while I’ve had my nice kitchen towels stored together with (clean) cleaning rags. And though they were clean, this pairing was still nagging me. The cleaning rags need to live in the cabinet with the other cleaning supplies of course, and not with kitchen towels that are not meant for cleaning! But how to get them tucked nicely in the cabinet without eventually getting strewn around the whole area? I packed them into an empty Kleenex box, and voilà. Nice, neat, and all in one, befitting, place.

I also printed out a revised cleaning checklist for my Household Notebook. Yes, that’s right. I know it’s nerdy, but I like it. It keeps everything in one place: my various lists (a favorite non-cleaning one is the monthly birthdays list), schedules, and a catchall pocket for stamps, checks, etc. My Household Notebook has proven very useful, so make fun all you want. I make plenty fun of myself!

I’m saving the closet as a very worthy deployment project (although I just organized it last month). I know by the time he gets home this house will be in tip-top organized shape. I’ll have to watch him like a hawk to make sure he doesn’t put the cleaning rags in the kitchen towel drawer. 🙂

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Wow. You have been working hard on this. good going! 😀
    I like the notebook idea a lot actually.

    Reply
  2. leahsinger

     /  February 3, 2011

    I can so relate to this! I just hear about other people organizing and I want to re-organize my stuff (that’s already organized). Just recently, I was reading a blog post about organizing craft supplies. So of course I had to do that too. And every time I watch Peter Walsh (the clutter guy), I start going through Sophie’s toys, our closets, books, and I have to donate stuff. I can’t help it. It’s a disease. Must organize! By the way, love your household notebook idea!

    Reply
  3. A notebook idea, huh.. cool! My little one (she loves crafts), is always wiping up stuff, (of course I applaud her for her efforts to keep thing clean) but with my good wash cloths! Really! Can you imagine! Yikes! The cleaning rag storage box is perfect! I can keep a box of cleaning rags at her finger tips and not my good wash cloths. I’ll have her decorate the box too, she’ll love the idea! How wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. I’m stealing your Kleenex box idea – I have all my rags piled on a shelf and fight with them every week when cleaning!

    Reply
  1. From Pillowcase Packaging to Travel Toiletry Bag | The Flibbertigibbet Blog

What are your thoughts?

