It’s Goal-Setting Time

Last night my husband and I were discussing the quickly arriving new year and the old tradition of new year’s resolutions. Funny that each year we set them … and each year we dismiss them!

I do like to make my resolutions every year. I write them down in a little notebook and carry them around and look at them every so often. Do I keep them? Sort of. Not really. Maybe.

However, Keith reminded me of an excellent tool I discovered last year by a company I adore: Lululemon. (Their pants may be pricey but they sure do feel good, are made very well, and last forever! Hit the sale rack.) Lululemon strongly believes in goal setting and they provide a great tool on their site called Goaltender.

Goals set using this tool are less new year’s goals and more life goals, but hey, now’s a good time! The premise is that by really determining your ambitions, writing them down and focusing on them via this path, you truly set your sights on achieving your resolutions.

Last year I set my one year, five year, and 10 year goals, and then … well, I forgot about them. That is, until Lululemon sent me an email that said, “Hey, have you reached your goal?” Funnily enough, I had!

Give their tool a try. Or,  do you have a better method to create – and keep! – your resolutions?

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Interesting… will check it out.
    Happy new year to you! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Last year I made a couple of resolutions (something to do with weightloss, career and other stuff like that) and I have to say I did try my best! I went to the gym, worked hard and tried to figure my life out. However, this new year I just thought I’d not make any resolutions, I’d just have a couple of things to keep in mind for this year…

    So for example, if I’m tired, I’ll go to bed because my “resolution” was to sleep more. Yey 🙂

    Love your blog!

    Reply
  3. i have decided on a ‘bucket’ list with a twist really using it as above 1 yr 5yr and God willing a 10 yr plan.
    Love reading your blog

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

