Getting Ready to Road Trip

Keith, Jack, and I are embarking on a VERY long drive tomorrow to get home for the holidays. I get somewhat excited about road trips – good quality time! Though, we’ve done this drive before and I know that after many, many hours I’m going to be clawing to get out of the car. And Jack will be too, I’m sure!

To stave off boredom, I have devised of a list of activities to keep us entertained well into the late hours of the day tomorrow:

1. Books on CD – one of my favorite activities in the car. If you pick the right book, it passes the time spectacularly. I find that road trips are the perfect time to get a book that I have been wanting to read but didn’t think I could make it through on the couch (non-fiction, anyone?).

2. Questions, Questions (since I have my hubby with me) – I’ve tried to think of some good conversation-starters. What is our favorite Christmas memory? What are his thoughts on [insert current news item here]. And I saw a good one on this blog: If I can have dinner with a famous person, who would it be and why? Etc, etc.

3. Sing – I’m serious. I will sing my heart out. It’s just fun. Who cares that people might see me pretending to be Taylor Swift? They probably pretended to be Lady Gaga earlier. Disney songs also provide lots of entertainment, especially if I can coax Keith into singing Aladdin’s part.

4. Podcasts – There are podcasts about everything under the sun. Some of my favorites come from HowStuffWorks.com: Stuff You Missed in History Class and Stuff You Should Know are good ones. I found one the other day about ghost stories. Good stuff!

OK, road trip. Here we come! I’m looking forward to singing A Whole New World tomorrow.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sounds like u’ll be having a lot of fun. I am almost jealous.
    And some great ideas there for long drives. I love the singing part – one of my favourite activities as well on a drive. And you simply can not do without good conversation.

    Enjoy your time. 🙂

    Reply
  2. cleveland05

     /  December 22, 2010

    Great ideas for a long drive! I, too, will be spending more time than expected in the car this holiday season. In years past it’s been a drive from Florida to Michigan and back again, usually with just me and my dogs, but this year, it’s snippets of road trips: 3 hours there, 3 back, 2.5 in a different direction, 2.5 back, 35 minutes there, 35 back. It’ll be fun though and I’m excited to see so much family.

    I thought of another game for you…an all time favorite of mine: the alphabet game and it’s many versions. You can compete against one another or make it noncompetitive and take turns finding the alphabet in various road signs, license plates, and billboards. Whatever you do, have fun and enjoy the quality time.

    I also wanted to thank you for adding a link to my blog. It means a lot to me! Thanks! Safe travels and Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  3. I also love I SPY!
    Bon voyage and Happy Holidays!!!

    Reply
  4. Ginny

     /  December 22, 2010

    I’m sure Michelley will sing a whole new world with you if you call her!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

